King Ranch Casserole

My king ranch casserole is a regular in our house. It is comforting and easy to make. The beauty of this dish is that it can be made for a family dinner or for a whole vacation house full. If you live in Texas and don’t have a go-to recipe for this, getcha one!

With LOVE from Texas,
The Pint-Sized Mayo

King Ranch Casserole

6-8 Servings*

Ingredients:

    • 2 pounds boneless chicken breast
    • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
    • 1 small white onion, diced
    • 1 green pepper, diced
    • 1 can cream of mushroom soup
    • 1 can cream of chicken soup
    • 1 can Rotel tomatoes with diced chiles
    • 1 cup chicken broth, low sodium (or you can use the water from when you boil the chicken)
    • 1 teaspoon garlic salt
    • 1/2 teaspoon chili powder
    • 1/2 teaspoon chipotle chili powder
    • 1 large bag tortilla corn chips (crushed in bag)
    • 2 cups shredded Monterey Jack & Colby cheese

*Since this recipe creates enough for 6-8 people, I have cut it in half for our house since there are only two of us.

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°F and spray a 9.5”x13” pan with nonstick spray. (I used a 8″x8″ pan since I halved this recipe.) Set aside.

Place a medium pot with salted water over medium high heat. When the water comes to a boil, place the chicken in it. Cook for 20-25 minutes or until done.

Remove the chicken, and cut into small chunks. Be sure to save and set aside 1 cup of chicken broth when chicken has finished cooking, if you are not using additional chicken broth. Dispose the remaining liquid, and return the pot to the stove.

Heat the pot over medium heat, and place the butter in it. Allow it to melt, and then add the green peppers and onions. Sauté until veggies have softened, about 5-8 minutes.

While the veggies are cooking, place the cream of mushroom, cream of chicken, Rotel tomatoes, chicken broth, garlic salt, and chili powders in a large bowl. Whisk until everything is combined well.

Open the bag of chips, and crush them in the bag. (I used a gallon sized bag since I did not use the whole bag.)

In the prepared pan, layer 1/2 of chicken, 1/2 broth mix, 1/2 of chips, 1/2 of onion and green pepper mixture, 1/2 cheese. Repeat with the remaining ingredients.

Place the pan in the oven, and bake for 35-40 minutes.

After time has elapsed, remove from oven, and allow to cool for 5 minutes. Serve warm.

Enjoy!!

“I want there to be no peasant in my kingdom so poor that he cannot have a chicken in his pot every Sunday.” – Henry IV

About thepintsizedmayo

Hi there. I am an engineer by degree, analyst by job description, and a complete foodie at heart. I've always had a passion for learning how to make scrumptious edible dishes and desserts, but only some friends and mainly my husband have reaped the benefits of my delicious hobby. After some urging from buddies, I'm finally now cataloging my adventures in the kitchen. I hope you enjoy reading and browsing as much as I love creating it! NOM NOM NOM.

Leave a comment