Roasted Poblano Chicken Salad

IMG_2720

Chicken salad is delicious, but sometimes I get bored with just regular chicken salad. My husband loves peppers of all kinds, and I prefer the milder type. Poblanos are located close to the top of my fave pepper list. They are even better roasted! Using already prepared rotisserie chicken from the grocery, makes this chicken salad an easy dinner to get on the table after a long day.

With LOVE from Texas,
The Pint-Sized Mayo

Roasted Poblano Chicken Salad

2-3 Servings

Ingredients:

    • 2 poblano peppers
    • juice of 1/2 lime
    • 2 tablespoons mayonnaise
    • 1 teaspoon salt
    • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper, freshly ground
    • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
    • 1/4 teaspoon chipotle chili powder
    • 1 celery stalk, diced
    • 1/4 cup onion, diced
    • 1.5 cups shredded chicken (I used half of a rotisserie chicken.)
    • 2-3 sandwich buns, for serving
    • 2-3 slices provolone cheese, for serving
    • lettuce, for serving
    • tomato, sliced, for serving

Directions:

Preheat oven to broil, and cover a small baking sheet with foil. Place the poblano peppers on the baking sheet, and put in the oven. Broil until the skin of the poblano browns and blisters. Once, this occurs, turn the poblanos over with tongs and repeat. This whole process usually takes me a total of 15-20 minutes, 7.5-10 minutes per side on my high broil setting. Remove the pan, and place the peppers in a small heat-proof bowl. Cover the bowl with plastic wrap, and allow the peppers to cool for about 15 minutes. (I roasted my peppers the night before, so I placed mine in a sealed plastic bag in the refrigerator over night. Sorry there are no pictures from the roasting.)

IMG_2707

Carefully peel the blistered skin off, de-stem, and remove the seeds from the pepper.

IMG_2708

Roughly chop the poblano flesh and place it in a food processor. Add the mayonnaise, lime juice, salt, pepper, cumin, and chipotle chili powder. Cover and pulse until everything is smooth and combined well.

IMG_2709IMG_2711IMG_2715

In a medium bowl, combine the poblano cream mixture with the celery, onion, and chicken. Mix well until everything is blended together.

IMG_2712IMG_2716IMG_2717

IMG_2718

Place a large helping on a sandwich bun, and serve with toppings.

IMG_2719

Enjoy!!

“Love, like a chicken salad or restaurant hash, must be taken with blind faith or it loses its flavor.” – Helen Rowland

About thepintsizedmayo

Hi there. I am an engineer by degree, analyst by job description, and a complete foodie at heart. I've always had a passion for learning how to make scrumptious edible dishes and desserts, but only some friends and mainly my husband have reaped the benefits of my delicious hobby. After some urging from buddies, I'm finally now cataloging my adventures in the kitchen. I hope you enjoy reading and browsing as much as I love creating it! NOM NOM NOM.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Garden-fresh poblano peppers | Small Change

Leave a comment