Quick Creamy Cheese Grits

IMG_2676

Grits grits grits. This is another staple of the south, and it is mainly consumed in the morning for breakfast. I actually prefer mine with shrimp (not for breakfast) or (if at brunch time) with grillades. I, of course, love the idea of brunch – mimosas, bloody marys, friends, and an assortment of breakfast and lunch foods (preferably on a beautiful patio)…what’s not to love?! This recipe can be whipped up in just a few minutes and is full of flavor!

With LOVE from Texas,
The Pint-Sized Mayo

Quick Creamy Cheese Grits

4 Servings

Ingredients:

    • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
    • 1 clove garlic, minced
    • 1 jalapeño, seeded & minced
    • 2 cups milk
    • 1/2 teaspoon salt
    • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper, freshly ground
    • 1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
    • 1/2 cup quick grits
    • 1 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese

Directions:

Place a medium saucepan over medium heat, and add the butter.

IMG_2659

Once it is melted, add the garlic and jalapeño. Sauté until they have softened, about 2 minutes.

IMG_2660

Next whisk in the milk slowly, and season with the salt, black pepper, and cayenne pepper. Stir until all is well combined.

IMG_2663IMG_2665

Bring the liquid to a boil, and then slowly whisk in the grits.

IMG_2668

Allow the mixture to cook for about 5-8 minutes, or until the grits are tender and the mixture has thickened. Remove from heat, and add in the shredded cheese. Stir until all is incorporated.

IMG_2671IMG_2672IMG_2673

Plate the grits on a plate, and serve with a meaty dish!

IMG_2676

Enjoy!!

“Stone-ground grits are wonderful, but because they take so long to cook, I usually go with quick cooking grits, which I also love. But I never make the instant kind, some things a Southerner just won’t do!” – Paula Deen

About thepintsizedmayo

Hi there. I am an engineer by degree, analyst by job description, and a complete foodie at heart. I've always had a passion for learning how to make scrumptious edible dishes and desserts, but only some friends and mainly my husband have reaped the benefits of my delicious hobby. After some urging from buddies, I'm finally now cataloging my adventures in the kitchen. I hope you enjoy reading and browsing as much as I love creating it! NOM NOM NOM.

Leave a comment