Chipotle Sloppy Joe Baked Potatoes

I have not been cooking recently, but it’s about time I get back to it. I feel more like myself when I spend time in the kitchen. After a recharging weekend, I have been reinvigorated to cook and bake once again. Yesterday, I was craving a sloppy joe and baked potatoes. So naturally I decided that they would be fabulous together. 😀

With LOVE from Texas,
The Pint-Sized Mayo

Chipotle Sloppy Joe Baked Potatoes

4 Servings

Ingredients:

    • 4 russet potatoes (even sized)
    • 1 tablespoon olive oil + some to coat the potatoes
    • 1/2 teaspoon salt + some to sprinkle on top of the baking potatoes
    • 1 teaspoon coriander seeds
    • 1 pound ground pork
    • 2 slices bacon, chopped
    • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
    • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper, freshly ground
    • 1 cup white onions, chopped
    • 1 jalapeño, minced (I removed the seeds and the ribs from mine.)
    • 2 cloves garlic, minced
    • 1 (12 ounces) can tomatoes
    • 1/4 cup ketchup
    • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
    • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
    • 2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
    • 1 chipotle in adobo, roughly chopped
    • 1 cup chipotle cheddar cheese, shredded, for serving (optional)
    • 1/2 sour cream, for serving (optional)
    • 1 cup fresh cilantro sprigs, for serving (optional)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400°F, and cover a small baking sheet with foil.

Scrub the potatoes under cold running water, and dry them well. Stab the potatoes on all sides with a fork to allow the steam to escape while baking. Rub the potatoes with olive oil, and place them on the prepared baking sheet. Sprinkle each potato with some salt. Place the baking sheet in the oven for 45 minutes.

While the potatoes cook in the oven work on the filling. Place a small pan over medium heat, and add the coriander seeds. Cook until they are toasted and fragrant, about 2 minutes.

In another large saucepan over medium heat, add 1 tablespoon of olive oil. Add the ground pork, bacon pieces, toasted coriander seeds, cumin, 1/2 teaspoon salt, and 1/4 teaspoon black pepper. Cook until meat is halfway browned while stirring occasionally. Next, add the onions, jalapeños, and garlic. Continue to cook until the meat is browned, the vegetables have softened, and the garlic is fragrant.

Add the tomatoes, ketchup, flour, sugar, vinegar, and the chopped chipotle in adobo. Stir and lower the heat to a simmer. Allow to cook for an additional 20 minutes.

Once the potatoes have finished baking, remove them from the oven and set aside.

Cut each potato open, and fluff the inside with a fork. Spoon the sloppy joe mixture into the opening, and top with chipotle cheddar cheese, sour cream, and cilantro.

Serve warm.

Enjoy!!

“To catch the ball, face up, look at all of my options and then pass. I was playing hot potato. I didn’t want to be the guy to stall the triangle.” – Karl Malone

About thepintsizedmayo

Hi there. I am an engineer by degree, analyst by job description, and a complete foodie at heart. I've always had a passion for learning how to make scrumptious edible dishes and desserts, but only some friends and mainly my husband have reaped the benefits of my delicious hobby. After some urging from buddies, I'm finally now cataloging my adventures in the kitchen. I hope you enjoy reading and browsing as much as I love creating it! NOM NOM NOM.

Leave a comment