Homemade Marinara Sauce

Marinara sauce is so yummy. This is my go to sauce when I need to just get some pasta and tomato sauce on the table. It has mushrooms and a couple of different meats.

With LOVE from Texas,
The Pint-Sized Mayo

Homemade Marinara Sauce

2-4 Servings

Ingredients:

    • 1 tablespoon olive oil
    • 1/2 pound of ground beef
    • 1/2 pound italian sausage (I used turkey.)
    • 1 cup yellow onion, chopped
    • 4 ounces baby brown mushrooms, de-stemed and sliced
    • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
    • 1 roma tomato, diced
    • 2 (8 ounces) cans tomato sauce
    • 1 tablespoon of tomato paste
    • 1/2 tablespoon herbes de provence (can substitute italian seasoning)
    • 1 tablespoon basil, chopped
    • 1/8 teaspoon crushed red chili flakes
    • 1/4 teaspoon salt
    • 1/8 teaspoon black pepper, freshly ground

Directions:

Place a large pot over medium-high heat. Add the olive oil. Next, add the ground beef and italian sausage to the pot. Allow the meat to brown, about 15-20 minutes.

Once the meat has browned, lower the heat to medium. Add the onion, mushrooms, garlic, and tomato. Sauté until the veggies soften, about 6-8 minutes.

Finally, add the tomato sauce, tomato paste, and spices to the meat and vegetable mixture, and stir to combine well.

Lower the heat down to a low simmer, and cover the pot.  Cook  for 20-25 minutes.

Serve over cooked pasta, in lasagna, or with some crusty toasted garlic bread!

Enjoy!!

“I love pasta with the homemade marinara sauce I had as a kid.” – Bernadette Peters

About thepintsizedmayo

Hi there. I am an engineer by degree, analyst by job description, and a complete foodie at heart. I've always had a passion for learning how to make scrumptious edible dishes and desserts, but only some friends and mainly my husband have reaped the benefits of my delicious hobby. After some urging from buddies, I'm finally now cataloging my adventures in the kitchen. I hope you enjoy reading and browsing as much as I love creating it! NOM NOM NOM.

Leave a comment