Double Coffee Blondies

Coffee…I LOVE it. Chances are that if something is coffee flavored, I will eat it. This recipe combines some of my favorite things…coffee, Heath bars, and liqueur.

With LOVE from Texas,
The Pint-Sized Mayo

Double Coffee Blondies

Yields one 9″ x 13″ pan

Ingredients:

    • non-stick spray
    • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter
    • 2.5 cups all-purpose flour
    • 1 teaspoon baking soda
    • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
    • 1.5 teaspoon salt
    • 2 tablespoons instant espresso powder
    • 2 cups brown sugar
    • 1/2 cup white granulated sugar
    • 3 eggs
    • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
    • 1/4 cup coffee liqueur (I used Caffé Lolita)
    • 1/2 cup Heath bars, chopped (I put mine in the food processor to do all the work for me)

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350°F, and spray a 9″x13″ pan with non-stick spray. Lay a piece of parchment paper across the pan, so that it extends the pan slightly. (This is an optional step, but it will make it easier to get the bars out later after baking.)

Place the butter in a saucepan over medium heat. Melt it and bring it to a boil. Keep and eye on it and stir it frequently to keep it from burning or boiling over. As you keep stirring, it will become quite frothy and will brown.

Remove from the heat and pour the browned butter into a large bowl (or Kitchen Aid stand mixer bowl) and allow it to cool for 1-2 minutes.

While it cools, sift and combine the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and espresso powder in another medium bowl.

Return to the bowl with the butter and add the sugars; mix well. Next add the eggs, vanilla, and coffee liquor.

Mix until combined.

Slowly, add the dry ingredient bowl into the wet batter. Do not over mix.

Once the batter is fully incorporated, fold in the Heath bars. Pour the batter into the prepared pan.

Place the pan in the oven, and bake  for 35-40 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the pan comes out clean. Let the pan cool completely before removing from the pan and cutting into squares.

Enjoy them with a nice glass of milk. (Just a warning…don’t eat these late at night…they will keep you up! Up enough to make you want more! ;))

Enjoy!!

Chocolate, men, coffee – some things are better rich. ” – Unknown

About thepintsizedmayo

Hi there. I am an engineer by degree, analyst by job description, and a complete foodie at heart. I've always had a passion for learning how to make scrumptious edible dishes and desserts, but only some friends and mainly my husband have reaped the benefits of my delicious hobby. After some urging from buddies, I'm finally now cataloging my adventures in the kitchen. I hope you enjoy reading and browsing as much as I love creating it! NOM NOM NOM.

Leave a comment