Mango Rhubarb Bars

Favorite Fruit = Mangoes!!! It has always been true. I love love love mangoes. I usually have mangoes in the house at all times. However, my love of rhubarb has showed up more recently. Now I also always have a bag of rhubarb in my freezer (thank you Kroger freezer section!). My favorite mangoes are actually the green ones…they are sour. YUM! So since I cannot get them anywhere except for the Philippines, I decide to feed my sweet and sour taste the only way I could…bake! I have made strawberry-rhubarb concoctions in the past, and it made me wonder about mango-rhubarb ones. BINGO! The combo is absolutely delish! I enjoy rhubarb with most fruits because it balances the sugar flavor with a sour/tart one. I found that it’s the perfect balance for my super-taster taste buds. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do, and I hope this makes you look at mangoes in a whole new way!

With LOVE from Texas,
The Pint-Sized Mayo

Mango Rhubarb Bars

Yields 9 large squares

Ingredients for the Crust:

    • 2 cups graham cracker crumbs
    • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted
    • 1 tablespoon granulated white sugar
    • 2 teaspoons lemon sugar
    • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
    • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
    • 1/4 teaspoon salt

Ingredients for the Filling:

    • 2 cups mango, fresh, peeled, pitted, and diced
    • 1/2 cup rhubarb, diced (can use fresh or frozen)
    • 1/2 cup granulated white sugar
    • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
    • 2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
    • 2 teaspoons lemon sugar

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°F.

Line an 8” x 8” baking pan with foil, spray with non-stick spray, and set it aside. Make the graham cracker crumbs by placing 10-12 graham crackers in a food processor. Pulse until fine.

In a small bowl, mix the graham cracker crumbs, butter, sugars, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt.

Press the mixture firmly and evenly into the bottom of the prepared pan. Bake the crust for 15 minutes or until golden at the edges. While the crust is baking, chop up the mangoes and rhubarb.

In a small sauce pan, bring the mango, sugar, lemon juice and cornstarch to a boil. Boil for approximately 5 minutes, stirring regularly so that the mixture doesn’t scorch and stick to the bottom of the pan. Remove from heat and set aside.

Once the crust has baked, pour the thickened mango mixture evenly over the crust. Sprinkle the remaining lemon sugar over the mango puree, and bake for 30 minutes or until golden and bubbling at the edges.

Allow the baked bars to come to room temperature and then chill through to set completely before slicing and serving. Serve cold.

Enjoy!!

“Yes, this is Mango himself. Listen I’m terribly busy and don’t have time for a phone interview right now.” – Mango played by Chris Kattan on SNL

About thepintsizedmayo

Hi there. I am an engineer by degree, analyst by job description, and a complete foodie at heart. I've always had a passion for learning how to make scrumptious edible dishes and desserts, but only some friends and mainly my husband have reaped the benefits of my delicious hobby. After some urging from buddies, I'm finally now cataloging my adventures in the kitchen. I hope you enjoy reading and browsing as much as I love creating it! NOM NOM NOM.

One response »

  1. No wonder we’re good friends, my favorite fruit of all time is mango also!!! You’ve got good taste, miss! 😛

    Reply

Leave a comment